Reasons to Stay Alive and other life changing books

Welcome Back

I’ve always taken solice in books, when the world doesn’t work for me, there are books to take me to nicer places, give me advice or hope for better days. So today I’ll share with you what I’ve been reading in the last 9 months.

A lot of these book are to do with my trying to process my loss, come to terms with it and try to live with my anxiety and mental health issues that have overpowered me for so long. I still have a lot to learn but from these books and with the aid of some counseling from Cruse Bereavement care. A lot of meditation has led me to also notice the things I have to be grateful for.

Bereavement

I wasn’t Ready to Say goodbye by Brook Noel and Pamela D Blair PHD

Grieving Mindfully

See also my Bereavement page, with more options.

Mental Health

On the anxieity,depression side of things, but these also have been of help on the bereavement healing too were;

Pema Chodron

The Mindfulway Workbook by Teasdale, WIlliams and Segal Awesome meditations on the CD really helpful highly recommend it

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig If you are really struggling to find reasons to stay, this book is for you. It saved my life, it might just save yours too.

A video by Matt Haig

Thich Nhat Hanh

Buddha in Blue Jeans by Tai Sheridan

See also the Mental Health page for more options.

Which given I have dyslexia is quite a list! Do I have the answer to Life the universe and everything… nah, that was worked out by Douglass Addams years ago, its 43 or was it 42. These books simply have options, new ways of looking at the world, and that seems to be the trick. Every one is unique, we all think, process and develop differently. Our life experiences mean you look at things in different ways to me, which is fine, as long as we all agree to just appreciate these differences rather than expecting everyone to fit into the same box. it ain’t gonna happen. Its trying to fit a mold you didn’t make that causes a lot of suffering.

In time I hope to publish reviews of some of these and also I will share pictures of some zen and meditation spaces I’ve been making.

Sending healing thoughts and prayers, may we all find peace somewhere, someday

Leave a Reply

